“Practically?”

“But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.” (James 1:22 NLT)

I rank with the highest of fools. Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.” (James 4:17 NLT)

I am practically an atheist.

Confession is easy. Repentance – changing the mind as evident through actions- is not so easy … for me, at least. I still confess things today that I was confessing as a teenager (I’m 34). I have had many conversations with others on this – I know I’m not alone. And the book of James puts the rubber to the road.

Even Paul said: ”  I realize that I don’t have what it takes. I can will it, but I can’t do it. I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time.” (Romans 7:19-20 MSG)

Life change is what the Christian life is all about. Repentance was the first command of Jesus’ public ministry: “I have not come to call the righteous but sinners to repentance(Luke 5:32 ESV). “No, I tell you; but unless you repent, you will all likewise perish.” (Luke 13:3 ESV)


What on earth am I doing? What are WE doing? “Don’t you remember that our ancestor Abraham was shown to be right with God by his actions when he offered his son Isaac on the altar? … He was even called the friend of God. So you see, we are shown to be right with God by what we do, not by faith alone” (emphasis mine). (James 2:21-24 NLT)

The very moment you separate body and spirit, you end up with a corpse. Separate faith and works and you get the same thing: a corpse.” (James 2:25-26 MSG)

The purpose of this site is not to be a ‘Debbie Downer’ or an endless stream of ‘woe is me’ self-pity. It’s just me. Me being honest about this chasm between what I purport to believe and what I actually do. I believe in Jesus Christ. My only desire is to love Him with all of my heart, “If you love me, obey my commandments” (John 14:15 NLT) and to be what I have been called to be: “But you are not like that, for you are a chosen people. You are royal priests, a holy nation, God’s very own possession. As a result, you can show others the goodness of God, for he called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.” (1 Peter 2:9 NLT)

Notice the text in blue above. Like what? Verse 8 explains: “They stumble because they do not obey God’s word, and so they meet the fate that was planned for them.” 

Our fate can be the abundant life Jesus has promised to us. My prayer is that by sharing my own struggles that you can relate and be encouraged – and that iron will sharpen iron. We are made in His image! We can be doers of the Word.

I hope the following from Phillipians will bless and encourage you.

I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.” (Philippians 3:12-14 MSG)
4 thoughts on ““Practically?”

Leave a Reply

